An Actual Day in the Life of a Twin Mom

This is what our day was like yesterday.  Every day is not like this, some days we have appointments and many days we go on walks.  I also don’t make dinner every day and I’m lucky to have a lot of help from my husband and in-laws.  Here is what we actually did yesterday:

6:00 a.m.

  • Babies wake up!
  • Change diapers
  • Turn on GMA for the babies (they love Robin Roberts)
  • Babies watch the news while I make their bottles (and my coffee.  Obviously.)

6:45

  • Feed babies their bottles and cereal
  • Babies play, have tummy time, practice sitting, rolling, read books, cuddle
  • Start laundry, take out dirty diapers to trash, wash bottles, eat my breakfast

9:00

  • Babies take naps in separate rooms (the separate room thing is key during naptime) while I squeeze in a workout

9:40

  • M wakes up (my babies aren’t the best nappers) and I try for a while to get her to go back to sleep (in vain)
  • I give in, get M up, and cuddle with her for a few minutes

10:00

  • Wake up H in order to keep babies on the same schedule
  • Change diapers
  • Make bottles (and more coffee for me.  Duh.)

10:30

  • Feed babies their bottles

11:00

  • Babies play, have tummy time, practice sitting, rolling, read books, cuddle
  • More laundry!
  • Put roast in the Crock Pot
  • I make a couple phone calls while the babies are happy, eat lunch at some point

1:00 p.m.

  • Change diapers
  • Babies take naps in separate rooms
  • Watch one episode of Kimmy Schmidt before H wakes up

1:30

  • H is awake – I try for a while to get her to go back to sleep (it doesn’t work)

1:45

  • I get H out of her crib and we cuddle for a little while

2:00

  • I wake up M in order to keep the babies on the same schedule.
  • Feed the babies their bottles
  • Babies play, have tummy time, practice sitting, rolling, read books, cuddle

3:00

  • I turn on the babies’ favorite video (which is currently a Pilates workout DVD) while I take a shower

3:12

  • I’m back before the babies know I’m gone (it takes me approx. 12 minutes to shower and get dressed. I’m fancy like that.)

4:00

  • Change diapers
  • Find out H has pooped up to her shoulders so I decide to move up bath time
  • I put M in her crib and give H a bath
  • Then I put H down for a nap while I give M a bath
  • Throw in some baby laundry due to the recent poopy development

5:00

  • Wake up H so that she’ll sleep tonight (I don’t always have to wake them up so much, but some days – like this one – I have to)
  • Feed babies their bottles and some green beans
  • [Dad is usually home around 5:00 Heart]

5:45

  • Help make dinner for adults

5:47

  • I hear the babies laughing hysterically while I’m in the kitchen (and they’re in the living room) and I {unsuccessfully} attempt to get it on video.

5:55

  • I return to the kitchen to help with dinner (Babies start laughing again while I’m out of the room.  They already have inside jokes.)

6:15

  • Babies play, have tummy time, practice sitting, rolling, read books, cuddle

6:30

  • Babies watch one of their favorite shows, Wheel of Fortune

7:00

  • Change diapers
  • Put babies in PJ’s, kisses, kisses, kisses, and then put them to bed (they share a room but they don’t share a crib – people ask that a lot.)

7:30

  • Finish baby laundry
  • Wash bottles
  • Help clean up the kitchen
  • Pick up baby stuff so people can walk through the living room

8:30

  • Watch some TV
  • Decide I should write this day down…and it becomes this blog post…

9:30

  • Bedtime for me! Thumbs up
Leave a Reply

