Things I Learned About Being Pregnant…While I Was Pregnant

I did not love being pregnant.  As a matter of fact, I really hated most of it.  I hated that people could see me getting bigger each day and I hated the way I felt like I was on display.  I hated that it was probably hard for some women to see me pregnant.  I hated not running and I hated how slow I had to walk.  I hated the fatigue, the morning sickness, the anxiety, the sheer weight I gained, the swelling, and the list goes on.

But I also loved some parts of pregnancy.  I was completely in awe of my body and loved to tell people I was turning donuts into human brains.  I found it so amazing how I would crave what my body and my babies needed.  Before I knew I was pregnant, I was eating peanuts like an elephant (foreshadowing of what my figure would become?).  Turns out, peanuts are high in folic acid, which is important in early pregnancy.  I also have never loved my body more than when I was pregnant.  This is sort of counterintuitive, but it’s true.  However, every once in a while I’d catch a glimpse of myself from the side and do a double take – I really was pretty big – but mostly I liked my body.  I also liked giving birth but my girls were under 5 pounds each, so that might have something to do with my warm fuzzy feelings.

Here are the top 5 things that surprised me about being pregnant:

  1. Everything means something, but some things mean nothing.  Some women experience cramping in early pregnancy and it means nothing besides you’re pregnant.  Other women experience cramping in early pregnancy and it’s the beginning of a miscarriage.  Some women eat extremely healthy during pregnancy and have extremely healthy babies; some women eat Pop-Tarts and Sweet-Tarts and have extremely healthy babies.
  2. Some women feel the exact moment of implantation.  Implantation pain and bleeding can happen.  When I learned this, I thought it was super cool.  I actually think this may have happened to me but I’m not sure if the timing is quite right for the age of the babies.  It could also have just been some cramps (see #1 above).
  3. Your skin might change colors in different places.  Certain places get…darker.  Even if you’re very fair-skinned.  I developed linea negra (a dark line down the middle of my stomach).  I actually liked the line because it was like a reminder that you’re pregnant, not just round.  It is also reminiscent of the pink line on the pregnancy test that tells you you’re preggers.
  4. Google IS your friend.  Although it is entirely possible to get misinformation from the Internet, if you find a consensus among several sources (that at least appear to be credible) then I found it is generally okay to rely on that information (disclaimer: I am obviously not a doctor and basically you shouldn’t believe anything I say.  Again, see #1 above.)
  5. If your water breaks in a public place, play it cool (and call your doctor).  And hopefully you are wearing black pants….

Every pregnancy is different and every woman is different.  Even individual pregnancies for the same woman are different.  So basically, read this blog (and other blogs), and then forget everything you read because you will be different.

Leave a Reply

