Twin Myths

I’ll be the first to admit that I knew close to nothing about twins before hearing those fateful words “there’s two in there.”  I still probably don’t know as much as I should but I have uncovered some twin myths since becoming a MoM (Mother of Multiples).

  1. All twins love being together.  False!  Until very recently, my twins barely even acknowledged each other.  My girls were in separate sacs in utero, which means they were not hugging in the womb.  I essentially had two different pregnancies…at the same time.  They are starting to “twinteract” now, which is the BEST, and I hope they grow closer as they get older.
  2. We hold them both at the same time.  Nope.  When the girls were tiny, I thought picking up two babies was a skill I’d need to master.  I quickly decided it was too risky and I realized it would be easy to drop them.  I only hold both of them if I’m sitting down and someone else hands me one of them.
  3. We know they’re fraternal.  Actually, no.  Surprisingly, we can only know they’re fraternal with a DNA test.  My twins are most likely fraternal but there is a small chance they’re identical.  Sometimes they look a lot a like, and as a matter of fact, identical twins can look pretty different (or fraternal twins can look alike).  Since my twins have different degrees of plagiocephaly (misshapen heads) it could explain their differences.  When people ask if they’re identical, I just say no, but in reality, we don’t really know.  Weird, right?

I’m pretty sure my twins are going to teach me just as much as I’ll teach them…

Leave a Reply

