What the Hell is a Hatchimal?

A couple days ago, I saw a “Hatchimal” (apparently this year’s must-have toy) posted for sale on my local online yardsale site.  A small bidding war ensued.  ‘Tis the season.

When I first saw a Hatchimal on the Today show, I was like, “why are they talking about Furbies?”  Look it up – Hatchimals are a carbon copy of 1998’s must-have toy.  These Furby ripoffs are currently selling for over $200 on Amazon.  TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS?!  All I know is that if I spend $200 on a toy for my kid, they aren’t going to be allowed to play with it.  If they still want it after they understand they can’t touch it, maybe we can think about it.

I tried to think back to when I was a kid and what toy I would have paid a zillion dollars (of my parents’ money) to have.  I can’t really remember anything specific, which means I either: received it, played with it for a month, and then forgot about it OR it means that I didn’t receive it and I was not scarred for life because of it.  I choose to believe the latter.  [Tomagotchi’s were badass, though – I for sure had a couple of those.]

Let me be clear that I am not judging parents who are buying Furbies – I mean Hatchimals – for their kids.  It’s more of a glimpse into my not-so-distant future.  I am not looking forward to the day that my kids can make their own Christmas lists (is that bad?).  I hope, I hope, I hope I can talk my girls out of the latest Furby iteration in 6 or 7 years.  If not, I hope someone is auctioning off two of them (BOGO?).  Because twins.

Leave a Reply

